Legal Separation Requirements
To file a legal separation in Colorado, you must first meet the residency requirements. You must reside in Colorado for at least 91 days to be eligible for a legal separation.
If you have any children, the courts will be unable to consider any issues with children until they have lived in Colorado for at least 182 days prior to the filing, unless the children are under six years of age.
A Quick Warning
Most people in Colorado today choose to separate through divorce proceedings, but legal separations are still common. A note of caution, if you decide that a legal separation is a way you want to go, keep in mind that you won’t be able to remarry under this option. You’ll still be legally married, and any attempt to remarry will violate Colorado’s polygamy laws and put you in their legal cross-hairs.
The Colorado Judicial Branch provides a useful, albeit user-unfriendly, frequently asked questions page on their site. Visit their website to get more information and decide if legal separation is right for you. The information that the courts provide is useful, but it should only be used for educational purposes. We still recommended that you use the services of a licensed attorney to proceed with this type of separation.